The Skin Cancer Foundation Awards $125,000 in Research Grants

Get Permission

The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted its member reception on March 1 during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) Annual Meeting. As part of the reception, the Foundation announced the winners of its annual research grant awards, collectively totaling $125,000.

David Polsky, MD, Chair of The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, led the research grant awards presentation. The grants program provides research funding to support dermatology department research and clinical studies related to skin cancer.

2019 Grant Recipients

  • Stephanie Savory, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center, was awarded the Ashley Trenner Research Grant Award ($25,000). The project title is “Practices and Attitudes of Primary Care Practitioners Toward Melanoma Screening and Education.”
  • Shruti Naik, PhD, Assistant Professor, Departments of Pathology, Medicine, and Ronald O. Perelman Department of Dermatology, New York University, was awarded the Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf Research Award ($50,000). The project title is “Decoding the Role of Skin Inflammation in Susceptibility to Carcinogen-Induced DNA Damage.”
  • Rie Takahashi, MD, PhD, of the University of California, Los Angeles, was awarded the Todd Nagel Memorial Award ($50,000). The project title is “Defining Key Metabolic Pathways in High-Risk Cutaneous Squamous Cell Carcinomas for Early Detection in Immunocompromised Patients.”

Stephanie Savory, MD (middle), the 2019 Ashley Trenner Research Grant Award recipient, with Dr. David Polsky, Chair of The Skin Cancer Foundation Research Committee, and research fellow Smriti Prasad.

Shruti Naik, PhD, the 2019 Dr. ­Marcia Robbins-Wilf Research Award ­recipient.

Rie Takahashi, MD, PhD (left), the 2019 Todd Nagel Memorial Award recipient, and Linda Nagel (right).