Yvonne T. Maddox, PhD, Appointed Acting Director of National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Get Permission

Yvonne T. Maddox, PhD

Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD, Director of the National Institutes of Health recently announced the appointment of Yvonne T. Maddox, PhD, as Acting Director of the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHHD). This follows the retirement Dr. John Ruffin, NIMHD’s previous Director. Dr. Maddox assumed her new role on April 1, having previously served as Deputy Director of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD).

Responsibilities and Activities Across NIH

AT NICHD, in addition to advising on budget matters and institute programs, Dr. Maddox led several committees to advance medical research for affected communities to improve their health. Among her many activities across NIH and the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Dr. Maddox chairs the Federal SIDS/Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Working Group, the NIH Down Syndrome Consortium (an international public-private partnership), has served as Executive Director of the DHHS Cancer Health Disparities Progress Review Group, and has cochaired the DHHS Initiative to Reduce Infant Mortality in Minority Communities.

Dr. Maddox served as the Acting Deputy Director of the NIH from January 2000–June 2002, and she cochaired the first NIH Strategic Plan to “Reduce and Ultimately Eliminate Health Disparities.”

Scientific Roles, Honors

As a cardiovascular physiologist, Dr. Maddox also has served in several scientific roles at the NIH and has authored numerous scientific papers and review articles. She has received many honors and awards, including the Presidential Distinguished Executive Rank Award, Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Award, DHHS Career Achievement Award, Public Health Service Special Recognition Award, DHHS Secretary’s Award, NIH Director’s Award, National Down Syndrome Society Champion of Change Award, and Research Down Syndrome Foundation Light the Way Award. Her scientific work has been recognized by Morehouse School of Medicine with a HeLa Leadership Award for Excellence in Reproductive Medicine. ■




By continuing to browse this site you permit us and our partners to place identification cookies on your browser and agree to our use of cookies to identify you for marketing. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.