Key Leadership in Place in Trump Administration

Get Permission

IN JUNE 2017, President Trump installed the final member of his cancer care leadership team, Norman “Ned” Sharpless, MD, who will serve as the Director of the National Cancer Institute. Director Sharpless is an accomplished researcher with experience leading a wide range of clinical and translational research endeavors. 

Director Sharpless joins other key members of the Administration’s cancer care team, including: 

  • Francis Collins, MD, PhD, who will remain as Director of the National Institutes of Health, where he will continue to shape biomedical research initiatives. 
  • Scott Gottlieb, MD, who was appointed Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, where he oversees programs to ensure the safety and effectiveness of cancer treatments. 
  • Former Georgia Representative Tom Price, MD, who was appointed Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Sec. Price manages 11 distinct divisions, which deliver a variety of health-related services. 
  • Seema Verma, who was appointed Administrator of the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services, where she oversees the Medicare and Medicaid programs, which cover millions of beneficiaries with cancer. 

ASCO looks forward to continuing its work with the leadership team to advance federally supported cancer research, enhance treatment options, and improve the lives of individuals with cancer. ■

© 2017. American Society of Clinical Oncology. All rights reserved. 




By continuing to browse this site you permit us and our partners to place identification cookies on your browser and agree to our use of cookies to identify you for marketing. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.