ASH Honors Benjamin L. Ebert, MD, PhD, With the 2017 William Dameshek Prize

Get Permission

Benjamin L. Ebert, MD, PhD

Benjamin L. Ebert, MD, PhD

THE AMERICAN Society of Hematology (ASH) will present the 2017 William Dameshek Prize to Benjamin L. Ebert, MD, PhD, of Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute for his seminal discoveries in multiple areas of nonmalignant and malignant hematology. 

The William Dameshek Prize is awarded to an early- or mid-career hematologist who has made a recent outstanding contribution to the field of hematology. This prize is named after the late William Dameshek, MD, Past President of ASH and the original editor of Blood. ASH President Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, a former recipient of this award, will present this award to Dr. Ebert on December 12, during the 59th ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition in Atlanta. 

Dr. Ebert is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He serves as Leader of the Leukemia Program for the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, is an Institute Member at the Broad Institute, and is Associate Physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He has recently been appointed Chair of Medical Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. 

Genomic Landscape of MDS 

DR. EBERT is notable for his leadership in describing the genomic landscape of adult myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS), including identifying critical new roles for ribosomal dysfunction. Specifically, he identified RPS14 as a key gene for deletion 5q MDS. His laboratory discovered the molecular basis of lenalidomide (Revlimid) activity in MDS as well as multiple myeloma. Recent studies have characterized clonal hematopoiesis and its contribution to both hematologic malignancies and cardiovascular disease. Along with human genetic studies, Dr. Ebert’s lab has made significant contributions to understanding the biologic basis of transformation of hematopoietic cells by somatic mutations. 

Before beginning his medical career, Dr. Ebert was a Rhodes Scholar, during which time he studied oxygen-regulated expression of the erythropoietin gene at Oxford with Peter Ratcliffe, FRS. He received his medical degree from Harvard Medical School in 1999, completed his internship and residency at Massachusetts General Hospital in 2001, and went on to complete his clinical fellowship in hematology and oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Dr. Ebert completed his postdoctoral research fellowship with Todd Golub, MD, at the Broad Institute of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University in 2007. 

Dr. Ebert is an active member of ASH. He is currently Co-Chair of the ASH Task Force on Precision Medicine and has served as Scientific Program Co- Chair for the 2014 ASH Annual Meeting and Chair of the ASH Committee on Myeloid Biology in 2012. 

He is currently President of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and a member of the Association of American Physicians. He has served on numerous editorial boards, including that of Blood. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Harvard Medical School Young Mentor Award, the Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology Program Thomas A. McMahon Mentoring Award, and the International Society for Experimental Hematopoiesis Till and McCullough Award. 

“The Society is honored to recognize Dr. Ebert as one of the leading young investigators in hematology,” said ASH President Dr. Anderson, of the Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics and Jerome Lipper Myeloma Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. ■




By continuing to browse this site you permit us and our partners to place identification cookies on your browser and agree to our use of cookies to identify you for marketing. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.