Susan G. Komen for the Cure® Announces 2011 Brinker Award Winners for Scientific Distinction

Get Permission

Armando Giuliano, MD, and Carlos Arteaga, MD, are being honored as this year’s winners of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure® Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction in basic science and clinical research. The awards will be presented on December 7 at the 34th Annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium where both Dr. Giuliano and Dr. Arteaga will deliver keynote lectures.

Carlos Arteaga, MDArmando E. Giuliano, MDDr. Giuliano is Executive Vice Chair of Surgery for Surgical Oncology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and Dr. Arteaga is Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. Their institutions will receive a $25,000 award to further their activities in breast cancer research.

Dr. Giuliano is receiving the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical Research for work that has led to less invasive surgical treatments for breast cancer, specifically the removal of fewer lymph nodes in certain women with early-stage breast cancer.

Dr. Arteaga is receiving the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Basic Science for his work explaining the role of several key proteins and growth factor receptors in the pathogenesis of breast cancer. His translational research helped provide the rationale for many of new targeted therapies.

“The pioneering work of these two scientists has had, and will continue to have, a significant impact on the quality of treatment and quality of life for breast cancer survivors,” said Eric P. Winer, MD, Komen’s Chief Scientific Advisor and Chair of Komen’s Scientific Advisory Board.  “We’re moving ever closer to an era of more personalized and less invasive treatments for this disease, thanks in large part to the foundation that these two scientists have built in translational science and clinical practice.”

Komen is the largest private funder of breast cancer research, this year investing $66 million to new research and programs to advance understanding, prevention and treatment of breast cancer. The Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction were established in 1992 to recognize the efforts of pioneers in clinical research and basic science. ■




By continuing to browse this site you permit us and our partners to place identification cookies on your browser and agree to our use of cookies to identify you for marketing. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.