Hagop Kantarjian, MD, and Victor Fazio, MD, Named Recipients of 2014 Lifetime Achievement Awards Presented by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd

Get Permission

Hagop Kantarjian, MD

Victor Fazio, MD

Hagop Kantarjian, MD, Professor and Chair of Leukemia at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, and Victor Fazio, MD, Chairman Emeritus, Digestive Disease Institute; Department of Colorectal Surgery, Cleveland Clinic, Rochester, were honored recently with the “Lifetime Achievement Award” for their dedication to research and clinical practice. The honors were presented at the Ninth Annual Castle Connolly Medical Ltd National Physician of the Year Awards in New York.  The Awards program recognizes and honors exemplary physicians each year who are nationally recognized leaders and contributors in their specialties.

Awards for Clinical Excellence, Leadership

Also honored at the event were three recipients of the “Clinical Excellence Award,” which recognizes physicians who exemplify excellence in clinical medical practice. Recipients included Susan B. Bressman, MD, Alan and Joan Mirken Chair, Departments of Neurology, Mount Sinai Beth Israel, Mount Sinai St. Luke’s and Mount Sinai Roosevelt; Professor of Neurology, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, in New York; Catherine R. deVries, MD, MS, Professor of Surgery, University of Utah, Director of the University of Utah Center for Global Surgery, University of Utah Health Care and Primary Children’s Hospital in Salt Lake City; and Michael Saag, MD, Professor of Medicine and Director of the University of Alabama Center for AIDS Research (CFAR), University of Alabama at ­Birmingham.

For outstanding dedication and work with an organization that has served to heighten the awareness for the need for support and research on that specific cause. Dr. Mehmet Oz, Host of The Dr. Oz Show, author and cofounder of HealthCorps, and Lisa Oz, Host of The Lisa Oz Show, author and cofounder of HealthCorps, received the “2014 National Health Leadership Award.”

Clinical Excellence in American Medicine

The National Physician of the Year Awards program was created by Castle Connolly to acknowledge clinical excellence in American medicine. Nominations are solicited from thousands of physicians across the country and the leadership of more than 1,000 hospitals to identify extraordinary physicians who have made significant and cutting-edge contributions to their areas of medicine.

Castle Connolly Medical Ltd produces America’s Top Doctors, a guide to help consumers in finding quality health care. ■