13 Mid-Career Clinical Investigators Receive 2016 NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award

Get Permission

At the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee (CTAC) meeting held on July 13, 2016, 13 recipients were presented with the 2016 NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award (CCITLA).

The award recognizes and supports outstanding mid-career clinical investigators at NCI-designated cancer centers who are working to improve the lives of people with cancer. Each award recipient is involved in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials. The award provides partial salary support for 2 years for the awardee to engage in activities and efforts related to the award.

The 2016 awardees are:

  • Rahul Aggarwal, MD, University of California, San Francisco ­Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Jamie Bakkum-Gamez, MD, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
  • Catherine Diefenbach, MD, New York University/Langone Medical Center Perlmutter Cancer Center
  • Noah Hahn, MD, Johns Hopkins University Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
  • Erin Hofstatter, MD, Yale Cancer Center
  • Kevin Kelly, MD, PhD, University of Southern California Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Sarah Leary, MD, MS, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • Frederick Locke, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center
  • Rachel Miller, MD, University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center
  • Taofeek Owonikoko, MD, PhD, Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University
  • Geoffrey Oxnard, MD, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Dale Shepard, MD, PhD, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Case Western Reserve University
  • Theresa Werner, MD, University of Utah Huntsman Cancer Institute ■