Sixteen Leaders in Breast Cancer Research Join Susan G. Komen as Advisors

Get Permission

Susan G. Komen recently welcomed 16 leaders in breast cancer research and advocacy who will serve as Komen Scholars—an international advisory group that helps to guide Komen’s research and scientific programs, education and advocacy work, and public health efforts in the United States and abroad.

The new members join 44 current Komen Scholars who, since 2010, have advised and provided expertise to Komen in a variety of capacities, including a primary responsibility of leading and participating in the annual peer-review process that Komen uses to fund its research program.

Komen Scholars are chosen for their knowledge and leadership within the scientific, research, and advocacy communities and for their own contributions to breast cancer research. Scholars bring a wide range of proficiencies across the spectrum of breast cancer science and care, including metastatic breast cancer; immunology, prevention, public health, disparities, and patient advocacy. 

New Komen Scholars

The latest experts to join the Komen Scholars include: 

  • Abenaa M. Brewster, MD, MHS (Risk Reduction, Survivorship,
    The University of Texas MD ­Anderson Cancer Center
  • Jason S. Carroll, PhD
    (Biology, Endocrine Resistance)
    Cancer Research UK Cambridge Research Institute
  • Dawn L. Hershman, MD, MS (Survivorship, Health Outcomes, Disparities)
    Columbia University Medical Center
  • Yibin Kang, PhD (Biology, ­Metastasis)
    Princeton University
  • Tari A. King, MD
    (Clinical ­Research, Treatment)
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Keith L. Knutson, PhD
    (Biology, Immunotherapy)
    Mayo Clinic
  • Mia A. Levy, MD, PhD
    (Big Data, Precision Medicine)
    Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
  • Jennifer A. Ligibel, MD
    (Treatment, Lifestyle Interventions)
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Anna M. Napoles, PhD, MPH
    (Survivorship, Disparities)
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH (Risk Reduction, Disparities, Global Health)
    Henry Ford Health System
  • Steffi Oesterreich, PhD
    (Biology, Endocrine Resistance)
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Charles M. Perou, PhD
    (Genomics, Precision Medicine)
    University of North Carolina
  • Kornelia Polyak, MD, PhD (Biology, Tumor Diversity, Risk, Prevention)
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Lajos Pusztai, MD, DPhil (Clinical Research, Treatment, Big Data)
    Yale University
  • Deborah J. Rhodes, MD (Early
    Detection, Imaging, Breast Density
    Mayo Clinic
  • Alana L. Welm, PhD
    (Biology, Metastasis)
    Huntsman Cancer Institute

“The Komen Scholars are a brilliant group of cancer researchers who bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to our collective fight against this disease,” said Komen Chief Scientific Advisor George Sledge Jr, MD. ■