23 ASTRO Members Awarded Fellows Designation

Get Permission

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has selected 23 distinguished members to receive the ASTRO Fellow designation. The 2017 class of Fellows was recognized during the Awards Ceremony at ASTRO’s 59th Annual Meeting, which was held September 24–27 in San Diego.

The Fellows Program, started in 2006, honors those who have been active, emeritus, or international members of ASTRO for at least 15 years; have given the equivalent of 10 years of service to -ASTRO; and have made significant contributions to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care or service, and leadership. 

Candidates must be nominated by a current ASTRO Fellow, accompanied by three letters of support from a selected subset of ASTRO members. A committee reviews all nominations and presents a slate to ASTRO’s Board of Directors for approval.

2017 Fellows

  • Douglas W. Arthur, MD, Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia
  • Jeffrey D. Bradley, MD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis
  • Kevin Camphausen, MD, Radiation Oncology Branch, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Maryland
  • Hak Choy, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
  • Brian Czito, MD, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
  • Patricia Harrigan Hardenbergh, MD, Shaw Regional Cancer Center, Edwards, Colorado
  • Eric M. Horwitz, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia
  • Kenneth Shung Hu, MD, New York University Langone Medical Center, New York
  • Peter Anthony Spencer Johnstone, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, Florida
  • Jonathan P.S. Knisely, MD, Weill Cornell Medicine, New York
  • Albert Koong, MD, PhD, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, California
  • John J. Kresl, MD, PhD, Phoenix CyberKnife and Radiation Oncology Center, Palo Verde Cancer Specialists, Phoenix
  • Nancy Lee, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York
  • Simon S. Lo, MB, ChB, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle
  • Richard D. Lovett, MD, University of Vermont College of Medicine, Burlington
  • Alvaro Martinez, MD, 21st Century Oncology, Farmington Hills, Michigan
  • Lorraine Portelance, MD, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Miami
  • George Rodrigues, MD, PhD, London Health Sciences Centre, London, Ontario, Canada
  • Alphonse G. Taghian, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • Bin S. Teh, MD, Houston Methodist Hospital, Cancer Center and Research Institute, Houston
  • Wolfgang A. Tomé, PhD, Monte-fiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York
  • Frank A. Vicini, MD, 21st Century Oncology, Farmington Hills, Michigan
  • Fang-Fang Yin, PhD, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina ■